The world's biggest football tournament, the FIFA World Cup, was first held in Uruguay in 1930, and has taken place every four years since, except for a 12-year gap due to World War II. We’re just weeks away from the 2018 World Cup and this is Tipbet’s overview of each of the 20 tournaments to date ahead of Russia.

Year: 1930

Host country: Uruguay

Champions: Uruguay (1st title)

The first World Cup was decided in Amsterdam on 28 May 1928, with the premise to stage a world championship organized by FIFA and took place in Estadio Centenario Stadium - with a capacity of 100,000 - which was built specifically for the tournament. Every country affiliated with FIFA was invited to compete without qualification but only thirteen nations entered the inaugural tournament and the first match took place between France and Mexico on 13th May.

With the planet in the midst of enonomic difficulties, Uruguay took the mantle of maiden hosts in their stride and ensured that the first competition was hosted in South America.

Frenchman Jules Rimet, who was the president of FIFA at that time, granted Uruguay’s application. Italy, Sweden, Spain and the Netherlands – the countries that also bidded to host the event – withdrew their applications and refused to participate in the tournament.

The football kicked off on 13 July 1930 and the final took place on 31 July as the hosts went behind 2-1 and scored three goals in the second half to claim the championship by beating Argentina with a 4-2 scoreline. The top goalscorer was Guillermo Stabile from Argentina with 8 goals.

Year: 1934

Host country: Italy

Champions: Italy (1st title)

FIFA, satisfied with the organization in Uruguay, decided to hold the 1934 World Cup in Italy between May 27th and June 10th. Unlike the modern day format, just 16 teams took part in the southern European nation.

This edition saw Brazil, the United States and Argentina eliminated in the first round, and all teams in the quarter finals were European. Surprisingly, the Czechs beat Germany 3-1 in the semifinals and were the opponents of Italy in the final. Italy won their home World Cup with a score of 2-1 in the final game which was decided in extra-time.

Top goal scorers, with 4 goals each, were Schiavio from Italy, Nejedly from Czechoslovakia and Conen from Germany.

View Tipbet's numerous of special odds markets here for the World Cup and place your bets.